Friday, March 28, 2008

What to Read Next???

I'm looking for help from those of you who were eleven years old a little more recently than me. My 5th grade son recently blew through the entire Harry Potter series and is having trouble finding somthing else to read because nothing else quite measures up. Other things he's enjoyed previously include The Falconers series by Gorden Korman and Hatchet by Gary Paulson (but he couldn't seem to get into the other Brian books). I have a few suggestions for him but I'd like to hear from some of you. Having spent the last 14 years in high school, I haven't read as many middle school books as I'd like. What were some of your favorite middle school books? Keep in mind that he is in fifth grade and his reading level is more mature than his interest level. Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

7 comments:

NHS Best Class Ever said...

how about the "series of unfortunate events" collection by Lemony Snicket..or even A Wrinkle In Time by L'Engle

NHS Student Council said...

I would suggest the Artemis Fowl Series by Eoin Colfer. It's a fanasy/science-fiction type of series, a lot like Harry Potter. It's been a while since I've read them, but I still remember how much I enjoyed them. Hope your son enjoys them too!

CJ McMahon said...

Well the two series I was about to suggest appear to already be taken so I will just back them up! Those series besides Harry potter are two of my favorites I can still even now get so lost in an Artemis Fowl book or A series of unfortunate events. They are the best!

Mrs. Young said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Mrs. Young said...

Thanks for the suggestions. He has read some of the Lemony Snicket books but lost interest after a while. He said the story lines were very similar. I read A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet a million years ago and forgot about them. I will definately suggest them. The Artemis Fowl series is something I've always meant to look into. I will definately get these and probably read along with him.

Michelle Le said...

My brother suggests: the Eragon series, the Animorphs series, anything by Peter David (who does a lot of movie novelizations), and the book Son of the Mob (which I also recommend - it was really funny!).

A great series for when he's older, or even now, are the Twilight series. (The first book is Twilight, followed by New Moon, and then Eclipse.) Even my high school guy cousins love these books!

Mrs. Young said...

Thanks, Michelle. I will pass that on. I've been reading about the Twilight series and plan to purchase the series for our library.